Vodafone NZ Music Award Finalists 2012 Announced!

A few hours ago the 47th annual Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards finalist were announced at The Cloud in  Auckland.

Six Tui nominations went to Hamilton-born pop songstress Kimbra, Home Brew and Six60 have five, Gin Wigmore has four and Opossom is in the running for three! The full list of finalist is below.

Kimbra will perform at the awards ceremony on 1 November at Vector Arena.

The awards ceremony takes place at Vector Arena on 1 November so we can’t wait for the big night of great New Zealand music with live performances by Kimbra, Gin Wigmore, The Black Seeds, Annah Mac, Six60, Home Brew and a special tribute to Legacy Award recipients Toy Love.

Tickets are available through WWW.TICKETMASTER.CO.NZ from October 3 and cost $25 including booking fees.

Album of The Year

Home Brew – Home Brew

Kimbra – Vows

Opossom – Electric Hawaii

Six60 – Six60

The Adults – The Adults

Vodafone Single of The Year

Annah Mac – Girl in Stilettos

Gin Wigmore – Black Sheep

Kimbra – Warrior

Six60 – Don’t Forget Your Roots

The Adults – Nothing To Lose

FOUR Best Group

Home Brew – Home Brew

Opossom – Electric Hawaii

Six60 – Six60

Best Male Solo Artist

Bulletproof – Dub Me Crazy

Seth Haapu – Seth Haapu

Unknown Mortal Orchestra – Unknown Mortal Orchestra

Best Female Solo Artist

Gin Wigmore – Gravel & Wine

Kimbra – Vows

Ladyhawke – Anxiety

Westpac Hotpoints Breakthrough Artist of The Year

Annah Mac – Little Stranger

Home Brew – Home Brew

Kimbra – Vows

Rockshop Best Rock Album

The Checks – Deadly Summer Sway

Clap Clap Riot – Counting Spins

Head Like a Hole – Blood Will Out

The Edge Best Pop Album

Bic Runga – Belle

Gin Wigmore – Gravel & Wine

Kimbra – Vows

Best Alternative Album

Ladyhawke – Anxiety

Opossom – Electric Hawaii

Unknown Mortal Orchestra – Unkown Mortal Orchestra

Best Urban / Hip Hop Album

Adeaze – Rise & Shine

Home Brew – Home Brew

Savage – Mayhem & Miracles

Best Roots Album

Hollie Smith – Hollie Smith & Mara TK Band of Brothers Vol.1

The Black Seeds – Dust And Dirt

Tomorrow People – ONE

Best Electronica Album

Bulletproof – Dub Me Crazy

Concord Dawn – Air Chrysalis

Six60 – Six60

NZ On Air Best Music Video

Special Problems – Take a Picture (David Dallas)

Special Problems – The Sun (The Naked and Famous)

Special Problems – My Calculator (Zowie)

Best Maori Album

Ria Hall – Ria Hall

Upper Hutt Posse – Declaration of Resistance

Whirimako Black and Richard Nunns – Te More

Best Gospel / Christian Album

Parachute Band – Matins:Vespers

Rapture Ruckus – Open Your Eyes

The Ember Days – Emergency

KBB Music Best Classical Album

Anthony Ritchie and The New Zealand Symphony Orchestra – A Bugle Will Do

Christopher Blake – Angel at Ahipara

Eve de Castro-Robinson – Releasing the Angel

Vodafone People’s Choice Award

Gin Wigmore


Home Brew


Stan Walker

New Zealand Herald Legacy Award

Toy Love

The recipient of the New Zealand Herald Legacy Award – Toy Love – will also be inducted into the New Zealand Music Hall of Fame.