Vodafone NZ Music Award 2013 Finalist Announcement

2013’s biggest announcements for the Kiwi music industry took place last night! Presented by the host of the Awards Stan Walker and Shannon Ryan.

The 2013 Vodafone NZ Music Award 2013 Finalist were announced, and for the first time the New Zealand Herald Legacy Award went to a female, Shona Laing.

Shona Laing

Laing first hit the spotlight aged 17 on New Faces with her hit ‘1905’. That song and ‘Show Your Love’ both went Gold, and also peaked at #4 on the New Zealand charts.

Recorded Music New Zealand Chief Executive, Damian Vaughan said, “Not only is she extremely talented and deserving of this award, hers is also a pioneering acknowledgement of the role female artists play in our music psyche.”

The night also hosted the announcement of the 2013 Technical Awards. The Tui for Best Album Cover went to Gina Kiel and Harry A’Court for Fat Freddy’s Drop’s ‘Blackbird’.

The Phoenix Foundation took away two Tuis with Lee Prebble and Brett Stanton winning for Best Producer and Best Engineer for ‘Fandango’.

The 2013  Critics’ Choice Prize was established in 2010 to recognise up-and-coming artists and potential future Tui winners. Past Critics’ Choice Prize nominees include Kimbra and The Naked and Famous. This years finalists include multi-instrumentalist Daniel McBride aka Sheep, Dog & Wolf; US-based singer/songwriter Janine and the Mixtape; and Paquin – the musical outlet of songwriter Tom Healy

The three 2013 contenders perform a live showcase at The Kings Arms in Auckland on November 6 before the prize recipient is announced on the night.

So who can we expect to see performing at the awards ceremony on November 21? The line up includes Aaradhna, Lorde, Jamie McDell, Titanium, Iva Lamkum and awards co-host Stan Walker. There’s also a special tribute performance to Legacy Award recipient Shona Laing by Ruby Frost.

Tickets are available through www.ticketmaster.co.nz and cost just $25 including booking fees.

Lorde is nominated for four Tuis

The full list of awards and finalist is below.

Mentos Album of the Year

Aaradhna ‘Treble & Reverb’

Fat Freddy’s Drop ‘Blackbird’

Shapeshifter ‘Delta’

The Phoenix Foundation ‘Fandango’

Unknown Mortal Orchestra ‘II’

Vodafone Single of the Year

Aaradhna ‘Wake Up’

Lorde ‘Royals’

Shapeshifter ‘In Colour’

Stan Walker ‘Take It Easy’

Unknown Mortal Orchestra ‘So Good At Being In Trouble’

Steinlager Pure Best Group

Fat Freddy’s Drop ‘Blackbird’

Shapeshifter ‘Delta’

The Phoenix Foundation ‘Fandango’

Spotify Best Male Solo Artist

Lawrence Arabia ‘The Sparrow’

Unknown Mortal Orchestra ‘II’

Willy Moon ‘Here’s Willy Moon’

Spotify Best Female Solo Artist

Aaradhna ‘Treble & Reverb’

Iva Lamkum ‘Black Eagle’

Jamie McDell ‘Six Strings and a Sailboat’

Westpac Hotpoints Breakthrough Artist of the Year

Jamie McDell ‘Six Strings and a Sailboat’

Lorde ‘The Love Club EP

Willy Moon ‘Here’s Willy Moon’

Best Rock Album

Beastwars ‘Blood Becomes Fire’

The Datsuns ‘Death Rattle Boogie’

Villainy ‘Mode. Set. Clear.’

The Edge Best Pop Album

AnikaBoh&Hollie ‘Peace of Mind’

Jamie McDell ‘Six Strings and a Sailboat’

Kids Of 88 ‘Modern Love’

Best Alternative Album

Lawrence Arabia ‘The Sparrow’

The Phoenix Foundation ‘Fandango’

Unknown Mortal Orchestra ‘II’

Best Urban/Hip Hop Album

@Peace ‘Girl Songs’

Aaradhna ‘Treble & Reverb’

P-Money ‘Gratitude’

Best Roots Album

Fat Freddy’s Drop ‘Blackbird’

Latinaotearoa ‘Sonido de Latinaotearoa’

Soljah ‘Aotearoa’

George FM Best Electronica Album

K+LAB ‘Space Dirt’

Shapeshifter ‘Delta’

Sola Rosa ‘Low and Behold, High and Beyond’

NZ On Air Best Music Video

Joel Kefali – ‘Royals’ (Lorde)

Nick Dwyer – ‘In Colour’ (Shapeshifter)

Thunderlips – ‘Frankenstein’ (Randa)

Numa Trust Best Maori Album

Kirsten Te Rito ‘Te Rito’

Maisey Rika ‘Whitiora’

Ngatapa Black ‘I Muri Ahiahi’

Best Gospel/Christian Album

Edge Kingsland ‘Edge Vol.2: Due North’

Go Stop Go ‘Go Stop Go’

Strahan ‘Posters’

Best Classical Album

Gillian Whitehead ‘Arapatiki’

Helen Webby ‘Pluck’

Michael Houstoun ‘Lilburn’

Vodafone People’s Choice Award




Stan Walker


Hallenstein Brothers 2013 Critics’ Choice Prize Line-Up

Janine and the Mixtape


Sheep, Dog & Wolf