Show Me Shorts 2015 Award Winners

Last night saw the opening of the Show Me Shorts Film Festival 10th anniversary! It was held at the glamorous and historic Civic theatre in Auckland and hosted by the hilarious Te Radar. The Academy Awards accredited event rolled out the pink carpet for filmmakers and fanatics alike to view all of the winning shorts and watch as awards were handed out to those lucky winners.

The highly coveted and Oscar®-accredited Lightbox Best Film Award went to Alyx Duncan for The Tide Keeper, a 9 minute Avant-Garde short that was quirky and captivating. The Tide Keeper also won awards for Best Director and Best Cinematographer and will now be eligible to enter the 2017 Academy Awards. The judges commented,

“The Tide Keeper is concise, intelligent, beautiful and moving. This film created another world within aworld, incorporating an intriguing sense of choreographic movement and the best elements of story-telling and cinema. It is totally original.”

Other stand out films included: Accidents, Blunders and Calamities for which James Cunningham won Best Editor and The Grind by Kyan Krumdieck & Annabelle Dick which was voted Best Student Film.

Award Winners

Lightbox Best Film Award

Alyx Duncan, The Tide Keeper

Final Draft Best Screenplay Award

Ryan Heron & Guy Montgomery, Return

DEGNZ Best Editor Award

James Cunningham, Accidents, Blunders and Calamities

StarNow Best Actor Award

Tina Cleary, Cub

Best International Film Award

Jonathan Stein, Out of the Village

DEGNZ Best Director Award

Alyx Duncan, The Tide Keeper

Panavision Best Cinematographer Award

Chris Pryor & Ben Montgomery, The Tide Keeper

NZFC Special Jury Prize

Mhairead Connor, UFO

Best Music Video

Thunderlips, The Eversons – Emily

Best Student Film

Kyan Krumdieck & Annabelle Dick, The Grind

People’s Choice Award will be announced in December when audience votes are counted.

The winning shorts will be shown at Academy Cinemas throughout Auckland and cinemas across New Zealand until January 10th 2016.