Show Me Shorts Film Festival awards 2017

The winners for the 2017 Show Me Shorts Film Festival awards were announced at a launch event at The Civic in Auckland last night.

The prestigious Best New Zealand Film award was presented to Phil Brough, Matt Heath and Orlando Stewart for their animated comedy Fire in Cardboard City. A Belgian short film set in a world where everyone has Down Syndrome, Downside Up, received the Best International Film Award. Show Me Shorts is an Oscar-accredited film festival, so both Fire in Cardboard City and Downside Up now qualify for entry to the Academy Awards.

Eight films won the ten Show Me Shorts awards. New Zealand writer/director Roseanne Liang’s Do No Harm walked away with three awards: Panavision Best Cinematographer, DEGNZ Best Editor and the Special Jury Prize for stunt coordination. Liang’s short is the ‘proof of concept’ for a feature film she is currently developing, set in the same world.

The World in Your Window by writer/director Zoe McIntosh was awarded the DEGNZ Best Director prize. The judges called the short: “A compelling film with well-nuanced intimate performances that take this beautifully told story to a level seldom seen in short format cinema.”

The members of the jury included screen industry practitioners: Miriama Kamo, Rachel House, Ian McCarroll, Yamin Tun and Mélissa Bouchard. They thanked Show Me Shorts and the filmmakers, “for the privilege of seeing these fantastic, sometimes gobsmackingly brilliant, short films.”

Local directing duo THUNDERLIPS, in association with Candlelit Pictures, won the NZ On Air Best Music Video award for the fourth year running with Turtles, by Kiwi rapper LarzRanda.

First time filmmaker Lauren Porteous received the Final Draft Best Screenplay award for Motel. The judges commended “the pared back screenplay of incredible subtlety and maturity from a talented voice.

Actress Marion Prebble received the Toi Whakaari Best Actor prize for Baby?, which she also co-wrote and co-produced. Jury members were impressed by, “a powerful performance with full commitment to a challenging role. Her unswerving focus made Baby? riveting to watch.”



  • NZ On Air Best Music Video: THUNDERLIPS & Candlelit Pictures – Turtles – LarzRanda
  • NZFC Best Student Film: Amberley Jo Aumua – Waiting
  • Panavision Best Cinematographer: Andrew McGeorge – Do No Harm
  • Toi Whakaari Best Actor: Marion Prebble – Baby?
  • Final Draft Best Screenplay: Lauren Porteous – Motel
  • DEGNZ Best Editor: Tom Eagles – Do No Harm
  • DEGNZ Best Director: Zoe McIntosh – The World in Your Window
  • Showtools Special Jury Prize: Tim Wong – Do No Harm – Stunt Coordination
  • Best International Film: Peter Ghesquiere, Hendrik Verthé, Kobe Van Steenberghe & Frank Van Passel – Downside Up – Belgium
  • Best New Zealand Film: Orlando Stewart, Matt Heath and Phil Brough – Fire in Cardboard City


Audience members can vote for their favourite short film to win the WatchMe People’s Choice Award during the festival, by going to showmeshorts.co.nz. The winner will be announced in early December.

There are 55 short films in the Show Me Shorts Film Festival programme. The films will screen at 26 cinemas nationwide from Kaitaia to Stewart Island. Screening dates and locations for Show Me Shorts are available here.